It is one of the oldest museums in Krasnodarskiy region. The museum was founded in 1910 basing on town's collection of illustrative study guides.In 2002 it was named by outstanding local history expert Vladimir Vasilyevich Samsonov, who was in charge of the museum from 1929 to 1962.
During the Second World war in the period of Nazi occupation more than 5000 collectibles were completely lost. The museum had to start its revival from 7 remained exhibits.
Nowadays the Museum owns about 60000 unique display items, which include weapons, awards, original photos, numismatic collections, works of art, documents, and materials from archeological and ethnographical expeditions.
There are two brunches of museum located in town - The Artwork museum and Ivan Maximovich Poddubniy Memorial museum