Magnitogorsk Museum of Local History was founded in august 1944. First expositionwas opened in may 1946.
For the last years museum workers has been collected huge collections about local history which include rich material about Magnitororsk (his history, traditions, cultural and natural landscape, and also about famous Magnitogorsk iron&steel industry). Most of exhibits was taken from archaeological, ethnographic, geological expeditions. Some of them were obtained as a gifts when others were handed through participants of the events.
Personal collections of the Honorary Citizens, Heroes of the Soviet Union, Heroes of Socialist Labor, Honored Workers of Culture, Education and Health care stores in museum funds.
Exposition under the name "History of Magnitogorsk is a history of our country" enjoyes wide popularity among the citizens and guests. On the basis of an exposition research associates regularly organizes meetings with veterans, historical scientists, pupils, students and representatives of the creative intellectuals.
Åxposition expanded cultural space of the city and region. The main part of exposition was added by other different interesting sections: "Animal world and minerals of the South Ural", Retro room "Here reminiscence all now" (which is very popular among visitors) and special section about history of the Soviet astronautics.Moreover our museum represents the only and unique in our region "Museum-apartment", which belonged to our magnitogorsk poet B. Ruchiov